Thoughts on Paul Ryan from a “suburban mom and woman”

12 Aug

Andrea Mitchell, NBC Chief News Foreign Correspondent and resident lunatic, has the audacity to claim that Romney’s VP pick is “not a pick for suburban moms… not a pick for women.” I don’t know about all my fellow women and mothers out there, but I am not interested in being told who is or is not a good choice to represent me, especially by a woman who is neither a mother nor an affected party in the current economic recession. Just listening to six minutes of Paul Ryan blowing the president’s health care plan to smithereens in the name of common sense is enough to convince me that he is more of a “pick for women” than Obama could ever dream to be.

I am disgusted once again at the media for constantly trying to associate the female vote with pro-abortion and pro-welfare candidates. Some of us believe in fiscal responsibility, and most of us understand the importance of making our own decisions for our families and ourselves. We are not so easily fooled as to think that because someone supports our “right to choice” when it comes to our bodies that they also respect us as Americans with the liberty to make our own personal and financial decisions. Ryan hits home a critical point by arguing that health care needs to be in the hands of the people, not the government. Obama will go on to argue that he is wrong, but in doing so he only argues with the founding principles of this nation and spits in the face of the American way. Think I’m exaggerating? Here is Thomas Jefferson’s opinion on debt and economy:

“I place economy among the first and most important virtues, and public debt as the greatest of dangers to be feared. To preserve our independence, we must not let our rulers load us with perpetual debt. If we run into such debts, we must be taxed in our meat and drink, in our necessities and in our comforts, in our labor and in our amusements. If we can prevent the government from wasting the labor of the people, under the pretense of caring for them, they will be happy.”

Paul Ryan understands that we cannot spend our way out of our problems. As a “suburban mom,” how can I not agree with him wholeheartedly? I know that I am not going to send my daughter to a respectable college by buying a new Coach purse every six months. I know that constantly charging thousands of dollars to my credit card and never attempting to pay it off is going to put me in a bad financial position that will negatively impact my children in the future. Hence, I understand that our government cannot survive by borrowing and spending incessantly. Paul Ryan and I are on the same page, and any sensible mother or woman will be as well.

As far as health care goes, I certainly don’t think that anyone else needs to have a say in my daughter’s health care. I think if you asked, most moms would tell you that they would rather make the decisions regarding the health care of their loved ones, instead of allowing another government agency (that taxpayers, of course, have to foot the bill for) to take control of yet another aspect of their lives. Responsible mothers understand that we either have to pay for our child to go to the doctor or we have to pay for a good health care plan. Either way, we know that money will have to go toward protecting the health of our children. And that is an investment any good mother is willing to make, even if it means sacrificing other things we may want. And for the mothers that truly struggle financially, there should be and is government assistance already in place, without the implementation of a total overhaul of private sector health insurance.

So honestly, I’m not sure what Andrea Mitchell is getting at by claiming Ryan is not a pick for women. Maybe the women she means are the ones lying around their homes surrounded by multiple children, waiting for their welfare checks and child support to roll in and save the day. Well, I can guarantee those women don’t know who Paul Ryan is, nor do they care to find out. I cannot speak for those women, but I suppose someone like Andrea Mitchell can.

Final Thought: “Experience should teach us to be most on our guard to protect liberty when the government purposes are beneficent…The greatest dangers to liberty lurk in the insidious encroachment by men of zeal, well-meaning, but without understanding.” — Justice Louis Brandeis, 1928

Leave a Reply

The Ugly Volvo

Attempts at Adulthood

Nathan Hancock

Probably not a waste of your time.

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

All We Are

Updates and a look behind the scenes of the non-profit organization

I A N W A T T

Creative Director

Lean Fit and Healthy Forever

One Guys Journey to Fitness

JOY IN THE DAY

Home of Glitter and Leg Warmers

twitchy.com

Who Said What

Elisabeth Akinwale

Athletics, Motherhood and Other SuperFantastic Subjects

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

Honest Food with Amy

Changing my lifestyle, one recipe at a time!

Egg Whites Only Please

With Cheese. And Bacon. On a Bagel. Oh gosh, I love bagels (as long as they're Gluten Free).

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

64 EATS

Good eats along I-64 in Virginia and a few beyond!

365 Days of Bacon

Every day. Bacon-fied.

